Alberta Statutory Holidays 2022

Alberta is one of the 13 provinces and territories in Canada and is one of the three prairie provinces. Edmonton is the second-largest city and its capital city of Alberta. Calgary is the largest city in Alberta, and the other main cities are; Banff, Drumheller, Fort McMurray, Jasper, Lethbridge, Leduc, Medicine Hat, and Red Deer.

Alberta joined the Canadian confederation in 1905 and it’s the 6th largest province in Canada. Alberta shares its border with British Columbia to the west, Saskatchewan to the east, the Northwest Territories (NWT) to the north, and Montana (a U.S. state) to the south. The main attractions in Alberta are; The Canadian Rocky Mountains, Drumheller Royal Tyrell Dinosaur Museum, the Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, Waterton International Park, Wood Buffalo National Park, and Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park, Banff glaciers Jasper National Park, Sylvan Lake, Lake Louise, etc.

The chart below shows the list of Public holidays for Albertans in 2022 or Alberta Statutory Holidays 2022.

Event 2022 Holiday
New Year’s Day Saturday, January 1
Family Day Monday, February 21
Good Friday Friday, April 15
Easter Monday* Monday, April 18
Victoria Day Monday, May 23
Canada Day Friday, July 1
Civic Holiday Monday, August 1
Labour Day Monday, September 5
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation** Friday, September 30
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 10
Remembrance Day Friday, November 11
Christmas Day Sunday, December 25
Boxing Day*** Monday, December 26

* For banks and government offices only.
** National Day for Truth and Reconciliation is not a provincial stat holiday in Alberta but is a holiday for all federal employees in Alberta, Click here for more details
*** Boxing day is not a statutory holiday in Alberta but it’s a paid holiday for many non-retail businesses.

For Other Canadian Provincial Holiday details click below;

                                

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.