Alberta Statutory (Public) Holidays 2021

Public holidays in Alberta

Alberta is one of the 13 provinces and territories in Canada and is one of the three prairie provinces. Edmonton is the second-largest city and its capital city of Alberta. Calgary is the largest city in Alberta, and the other main cities are; Banff, Drumheller, Fort McMurray, Jasper, Lethbridge, Leduc, Medicine Hat, and Red Deer.

Alberta joined the Canadian confederation in 1905 and it’s the 6th largest province in Canada. Alberta shares its border with British Columbia to the west, Saskatchewan to the east, the Northwest Territories (NWT) to the north, and Montana (a U.S. state) to the south. The main attractions in Alberta are; The Canadian Rocky Mountains, Drumheller Royal Tyrell Dinosaur Museum, the Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, Waterton International Park, Wood Buffalo National Park, and Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park, Banff glaciers Jasper National Park, Sylvan Lake, Lake Louise, etc.

The chart below shows the list of statutory/Public holidays for Albertans in 2021.

Event 2021 Holiday
New Year’s Day Friday, January 1
Family Day Monday, February 15
Good Friday Friday, April 2
Easter Monday* Monday, April 5
Victoria Day Monday, May 24
Canada Day Thursday, July 1
Civic Holiday Monday, August 2
Labour Day Monday, September 6
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 11
Remembrance Day Thursday, November 11
Christmas Day Saturday, December 25
Boxing Day** Sunday, December 26

* For banks and government offices only.
**Boxing day is not a statutory holiday in Alberta but its a paid holiday for many non-retail businesses

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Tiffany Dash says:

    It looks like you’ve put a lot of work into this, keep up the good work. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.