British Columbia Public Holidays 2022

British Columbia (BC) has 9 public holidays in 2022, it is of the most beautiful provinces in Canada and promotes “Ecotourism”. The province share it borders with Yukon and Northwest Territories at north, the Alberta at east, west by the Pacific Ocean and the south by the U.S. states of Montana. Victoria is the capital city of BC, and its named in the memory of Queen Victoria, who was the Monarch of the British Empire during the creation of the original British colonies in Canada. The major cities in this province are, Victoria, Sidney, Vancouver, Surrey, Burnaby, Richmond, Coquitlam, Langley Delta, Maple Ridge, New Westminster, Port Moody, White Rock, Pitt Meadows, Bowen Island, Anmore, Lions Bay, Belcarra, Saanich, Esquimalt, Oak Bay, Highlands, Colwood, Langford, Metchosin, Sooke, etc.

British Columbia joined the Confederation in 1871, and became the sixth province of Canada. In its early days the English, Scottish, and Northern Irish migrants played a major role in founding the province. As per the 2016 census, BC is the third-most populous province in Canada.

The table below shows the list of statutory holidays British Columbia or British Columbia Public holidays 2022

Event 2022 Holiday
New Year’s Day Saturday, January 1
Family Day Monday, February 15
Good Friday Friday, April 15
Easter Monday* Monday, April 18
Victoria Day Monday, May 23
Canada Day Friday, July 1
British Columbia Day Monday, August 1
Labour Day Monday, September 5
National Day for Truth and Reconciliation** Friday, September 30
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 10
Remembrance Day Friday, November 11
Christmas Day Sunday, December 25
Boxing Day*** Monday, December 26

* For banks and Federal government offices only.
** National Day for Truth and Reconciliation is not a provincial stat holiday in BC but is a holiday for all federal employees in BC, Click here for more details
*** Boxing day is not a statutory holiday in BC but its a paid holiday for many non-retail businesses.

For Other Canadian Provincial Holiday details click below;

                                

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.