British Columbia Public Holidays 2021

 

British Columbia Public Holidays

British Columbia (BC) has 9 public holidays in 2021, it is of the most beautiful provinces in Canada and promotes “Ecotourism”. The province share it borders with Yukon and Northwest Territories at north, the Alberta at east, west by the Pacific Ocean and the south by the U.S. states of Montana. Victoria is the capital city of BC, and its named in the memory of Queen Victoria, who was the Monarch of the British Empire during the creation of the original British colonies in Canada. The major cities in this province are, Victoria, Sidney, Vancouver, Surrey, Burnaby, Richmond, Coquitlam, Langley Delta, Maple Ridge, New Westminster, Port Moody, White Rock, Pitt Meadows, Bowen Island, Anmore, Lions Bay, Belcarra, Saanich, Esquimalt, Oak Bay, Highlands, Colwood, Langford, Metchosin, Sooke, etc.

British Columbia joined the Confederation in 1871, and became the sixth province of Canada. In its early days the English, Scottish, and Northern Irish migrants played a major role in founding the province. As per the 2016 census, BC is the third-most populous province in Canada.
The table below shows the list of statutory holidays British Columbia or British Columbia Public holidays

Event 2021 Holiday
New Year’s Day Friday, January 1
Family Day Monday, February 15
Good Friday Friday, April 2
Easter Monday* Monday, April 5
Victoria Day Monday, May 24
Canada Day Thursday, July 1
British Columbia Day Monday, August 2
Labour Day Monday, September 6
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 11
Remembrance Day Thursday November 11
Christmas Day Saturday, December 25
Boxing Day** Sunday, December 26

* For banks and government offices only.
**Boxing day is not a statutory holiday in BC but its a paid holiday for many non-retail businesses

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.