Newfoundland and Labrador Public Holidays 2021

Newfoundland and Labrador Public Holidays

Newfoundland and Labrador is the easternmost province on the Canadian map and composed of the island of Newfoundland and a larger mainland sector, Labrador. Newfoundland and Labrador have a combined area of 405,212 square kilometers, St. John’s is its capital and it is the largest city in the province.

On March 31, 1949, Newfoundland and Labrador joined the Canadian Confederation as its tenth and final province. The initial name for the province was on as “Newfoundland” only. On December 6, 2001, with a Constitution amendment, the province’s name changed to Newfoundland and Labrador. The main cities in Newfoundland and Labrador are St. John’s, Conception Bay South, Paradise, Mount Pearl, Corner Brook, Grand Falls-Windsor, Portugal Cove-St. Philip’s, Torbay, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, and Gander.

As per the 2016 Canadian census, the majority of the people in Newfoundland and Labrador are of European descent. There are many settlements of Innu First nation (known as Montagnais and Naskapi) and Inuit Indian (Eskimo in Alaska) communities. The other first nation settlements in Newfoundland and Labrador are Métis and Mi’kmaq. The majority of the people in the province are English-speaking, though there is an active Francophone minority.

The main attractions in Newfoundland and Labrador are, Gros Morne National Park, Terra Nova National Park, L’Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site, Signal Hill National Historic Site, Castle Hill National Historic Site, Red Bay National Historic Site, The Rooms Museum, Cape Spear Lighthouse, Long Point Lighthouse, Battle Harbour, Cape St. Mary’s Ecological Reserve, Twillingate, Fogo Island, the town of Bonavista, Long Range Mountains, Puffin and Whale Cruises in Witless Bay also attracts many visitors.

The following is a list of designated Paid Holidays for 2021 in Newfoundland and Labrador or Newfoundland and Labrador Public Holidays.

Event 2021 Holiday
New Year’s Day Friday, January 1
St. Patrick’s Day Monday, March 15
Good Friday Friday, April 2
St. George’s Day Monday, April 26
Victoria Day Monday, May 24
June holiday Monday, June 21
Memorial Day (Canada Day) Thursday, July 1
Orangeman’s Day Monday, July 12
Labour Day Monday, September 6
Thanksgiving Day   Monday, October 11
Armistice Day (Remembrance Day) Thursday, November 11
Christmas Day Monday, December 27
Boxing Day Sunday, December 26

One additional day in each year that, in the opinion of the Permanent Head, is recognized to be a civic holiday in the area in which the employee is employed. If no civic holiday is provided, the employee shall be granted an additional day at a time to be determined by the Permanent Head.

Employees working in continuous operations and/or in shift operations will have paid holidays on days designated by the Permanent Head of their Department.

You may also like...